top of page






Reed Brothers, Ysabel David, Elle Gailey,

Eliza Gilligan, Nina Hall, Orli Hellerstein,

Mia Holtan, Nico Migdal, Lucy Thompson, 

Chloe Tripier, Naledi Wiberg




Tanya Chianese, Wax Poets (Garth Grimball and

Heather Stockton), Talli Jackson, Katie Faulkner,

Kristin Damrow

Previous Choreographers

The Shawl-Anderson Youth Ensemble (SAYE) is a pre-professional modern dance program for ages 14-18. This program is for the dedicated modern dance student who has completed the intermediate or advanced level at SADC or a comparable program, and is interested in learning and performing new choreography. As a participant in SAYE, students have the opportunity to perform in the works of Bay Area choreographers at local festivals, see live dance performances, and take master classes with world class teachers. Students are selected based on level and age via auditions in June.

The program requires a full school year commitment from September to June. Students take class three afternoons per week for a total of three classes and two rehearsals.  This schedule consists of:

Ensemble Modern | Mo Miner

Tues  4:30-6:00 at SADC

Thurs 4:30-6:00 at Temescal Arts Center:

511 48th Street (at Telegraph Ave), Oakland


Ballet Class | SADC Faculty

Members are placed in a teen ballet classes appropriate to the student’s level

Mon 4:30-6:00pm



Ensemble Rehearsal | Guest Choreographers

Mon 6:00-7:30

Thurs 6:00-7:30 at Temescal Arts Center:

511 48th Street (at Telegraph Ave), Oakland



Participation in the Shawl-Anderson Youth Ensemble is by audition. The audition takes place once a year at the end of the Winter/Spring semester in early June. Interested candidates should email for more information.

Ensemble members have been selected for the 2019-20 school year.

The 2020-21 audition date will take place in June 2020




Questions? E-mail Program Director Mo Miner

or call 510-654-5921



2019-20 MEMBERS

Phoebe Aldrich, Emma Backer, Roya Becker,

Stella Della Sala, Stella Fitzsimmons,

Pearl Gauthier, Abby Jo Lynn,

Soizig Senant-Giraud, Phoebe Van Eyck




Ashley Gayle Crockett, Andrew Merrell, Korea Venters, Stacey Yuen, Chelsea Brown, & Kylie Woodward-Sollesnes

Previous Choreographers